Gifted Issues Discussion homepage
Posted By: Mk13 Kindergarten homework ... wth does this mean??? - 09/04/13 05:10 PM
Boy, am I glad DS5 can count so I don't have to pay attention to the instructions that sometimes come home as his Kinder homework! (the teacher told us at the curriculum night that if we find some things too basic, we do NOT have to do them. So I'm taking her word for it!)

The worksheets he brings home have instruction along these lines ... "understand that the last number name said tells the number of objects counted. The number of objects is the same regardless of their arrangement or the order in which they are counted."

home activity ... "use a box of blocks or other toys. Have your child count 4 blocks and put them in the box. Have your child move the blocks around and ask if there are still 4 blocks in the box. Ask your child to check by counting. Repeat the activity with 5 blocks."

Seriously? I have no experience with NT kids ... do they actually have to follow all these steps to learn basic counting? Can't they just show them one of the fun Leapfrog videos and be done with it??? I can see why my kid is bored beyond reasonable if that's the kind of math activities they do at school??? The instructions make my head spin! ... and I've already seen even worse than this in the last 2 weeks. Yikes!
When I saw the homework last week (counting 2 and 3 objects) I gave him a different worksheet (with some basic addition to freshen up his old skills) and sent that to school with a note that I hope she doesn't mind I give him more challenging work at times ... with the explanation that I don't want him to start acting up in class if he finds the work too easy. Haven't heard anything back. Not sure if that means she liked the idea or not? Was worth a try smile
It was shocking to me as well last year. And I can tell you I am equally shocked about the homework so far in first....
Originally Posted by master of none