Gifted Issues Discussion homepage
Posted By: jenweav Common Core Math - 01/17/13 04:24 PM
How are your middle schools handling implementation of Common Core Math. I am on a committee looking at the changes our district is planning. Currently, our gifted students are able to take Algebra 1 in the seventh grade and Geometry in the 8th grade. Our district is proposing that gifted students not be allowed to take Geometry in 8th grade, but should instead spend 2 years in Algebra 1 beginning in the 7th grade
. This is based on the supposition that the increase in the rigor of the common core standards will be great enough to justify this amount of time spent in Algebra 1. I am a parent not a teacher and not really a mathematician. My son's class is the first this will affect.
Posted By: HowlerKarma Re: Common Core Math - 01/17/13 10:40 PM
Hmmm.

Well, I'm skeptical. My DD's foundation in algebra I and geometry is more than enough for her to tutor high school students in both courses-- and in the revamped Common Core "course three" which I gather is the new "prealgebra" class. Or maybe it's some other course that doesn't translate at all into the conventional sequence, as it has elements of algebra and geometry both, but with less rigor than either course. At any rate, DD knows her stuff well enough to explain it efficiently and cleanly to other students for four hours a week-- and that includes students who are into the newly designed/aligned course.

On the other hand, if "inquiry based" methods of math instruction are implemented as they have been in many ways around here... well, then, sure. I can see why it would take students-- even bright ones-- a couple of years to "discover" algebra 1 fundamentals on their own.

(Yes, sarcasm very much intended)

Posted By: Kai Re: Common Core Math - 01/17/13 10:41 PM