Posted By: Xiangbaobao Help with WISC-IV score - 07/11/11 04:12 AM
Hello,

I am new to this gifted children world. My kid just had the test. The score is:
VC 150
PR 147
WM 138
PS 136
FSIQ 153
I see a few posts talking about GAI instead of FSIQ. What is it? How do know my kid's GAI? The psycologist recommends us to apply DS YS. Do you know where we can take the required achievement test? Thanks a lot!

Posted By: LDmom Re: Help with WISC-IV score - 07/11/11 04:32 AM
Welcome! How old is your child? We used the Explore for our 3rd grader.
Here are a few talent search programs that administer the test.

http://www.education.uiowa.edu/html/belinblank/TalentSearch/Explore/Default.aspx
http://www.cmu.edu/cmites/ests.html
http://www.ctd.northwestern.edu/numats/

Those are fantastic scores. Congratulations! smile
Posted By: Xiangbaobao Re: Help with WISC-IV score - 07/11/11 04:41 AM
Thanks, LDmom! Have you applied DYS? Do you think that my child has a chance? Is it worthwhile to try?

My child is going to the 3rd grade in fall. It seems that Explore starts from 3rd grade. Is there any disadvantage of taking Explore test before the child actually starts the 3rd grade.
Posted By: LDmom Re: Help with WISC-IV score - 07/11/11 04:41 AM
Originally Posted by Xiangbaobao
I see a few posts talking about GAI instead of FSIQ. What is it? How do know my kid's GAI?

The GAI is the General Ability Index. I cannot pretend to know more than that as I've only recently been researching all of this so I will leave you with this link till someone more knowledgeable replies. Goodluck!

http://www.pearsonassessments.com/N...DA-05888C7CC082/0/80720_WISCIV_Hr_r4.pdf
Posted By: LDmom Re: Help with WISC-IV score - 07/11/11 04:48 AM
Do I think your child has a chance? Absolutely! smile

Yes, we used the Explore results + portfolio option for our son. I did have him take a WiscIV after I sent our application (for back-up) but they accepted him without my having to submit the IQ results.