Gifted Issues Discussion homepage
Posted By: NoahZMom WISC-IV with low WM - 11/20/12 08:01 PM
Hi, my DS7 was tested recently and I have received the results for him WISC-IV. He did very well execpt for the Working Memory. Has anyone had this experience? I'm not sure what it means. His scores were:
VC 132
PR 133
WM 107
PS 131
with a Full Scale of 135 and GAI of 139
The psychologist just emailed me the results but did not really give me any clarifications. I had him tested because the school was complaining how he talks to much and is a little on the hyperactive side. I am hoping that they will now give him some more challenging work. Any guidance anyone has would be much appreciated as I'm new to all this. Thanks.
Posted By: polarbear Re: WISC-IV with low WM - 11/26/12 07:44 PM
Welcome! My 2e ds has a relatively low WM score when he was first tested with the WISC (7 years old), but he also had a PSI lower than the WM. Working Memory refers to the memory available for use as you're working a problem (sorry that's not a very technical answer!). A low WM score can be a concern if there are other issues causing an overload on WM, but in general I wouldn't be too concerned about the score. When we asked our neuropsych about ds' WM score when he was 7 she said that her view of it is WM is either "on or off" and a WM lower than PRI/VIQ etc isn't a cause for concern in and of itself. She also mentioned that WM sometimes goes up with age, and that absolutely happened for our ds - when he was re-eval'd prior to going into middle school, his WM score increased significantly.

Best wishes,

polarbear
Posted By: morgans-mommy Re: WISC-IV with low WM - 11/27/12 02:47 PM