Gifted Issues Discussion homepage
So we are finally having dd8 tested with a reputable and very expensive psych from the Hoagies list. I have been contemplating it for 5 years. But...dd has appeared less gifted than I previously thought, and I doubt her teachers would think spending the time and $ is warranted. If I don't do it I will always wonder if we are missing something. But it is really a huge amount of money--and I just realized an additional $800 for the report? WTH! I am sure this is in line but ugh. We only spent $500 total for older dd. I am familiar with what giftedness looks like, older dd is HG (not bio sister to younger dd) and had a successful skip. I will feel really stupid if we spend a ton of money and find out a FSIQ of 120, no LDs, and it was completely unenlightening. Someone help me feel better, please.

You will feel better because you will have an answer, so yes, it is a good idea.

I am relatively new to all of this but I would have never imagined one of my DD as being PG. It was because of behaviour issues in the classroom that we had her tested. We have paid out of pocket and it is a lot of money but knowing for sure will help you ensure that she is getting her needs met (if there is any question of such).
It makes sense to spend the money -- but the costs you mention do seem very high (we spent less than 800 for testing including a full report). I know it varies by geography, though. Are there any other testing options?
I agree with JonLaw. You've had questions and concerns for five years. If you find out that your DD is twice exceptional then can get to work on remediation. If not, you can stop worrying about it.

We only had one of our three kids formally tested. For us, the key question was if the testing showed what we suspected, would we do anything different. For us, the testing did show that our kid is twice exceptional.