Gifted Issues Discussion homepage
Posted By: deacongirl Article: Princeton's Woman Problem - 03/23/11 03:05 AM
http://www.thedailybeast.com/blogs-...ons-women-take-second-place-on-campus/2/

A comment:
"This is the exact same reason why I elected to attend a Seven Sisters school even though I'd been accepted to several Ivy Leagues. Despite the fact that they are now coed, there is still a large remnant of that "boys club" mentality among the males at the Ivy Leagues (especially those who are legacy students). It would have been too easy to sit back and let them take over. At Mount Holyoke we ran everything-- from the newspaper to the clubs to the sports teams--and gained valuable leadership experience in the process. Today I'm a college professor, and when I observe the interactions that take place between the male and female students on my campus, I thank my lucky stars that I went to a women's college."
Posted By: herenow Re: Article: Princeton's Woman Problem - 03/23/11 04:31 PM
This article (and all the associated articles) has left me stunned. I would love to hear from someone who has recently gone to one of these ivy league schools or has had a child enrolled at one.
Posted By: Bostonian Re: Article: Princeton's Woman Problem - 03/23/11 05:15 PM
Originally Posted by herenow
This article (and all the associated articles) has left me stunned. I would love to hear from someone who has recently gone to one of these ivy league schools or has had a child enrolled at one.

Why is it "stunning" that fewer women than men at Princeton are in leadership positions? It matches the pattern in the outside world. Steven Goldberg wrote a book "Why Men Rule" that explains why.
Posted By: deacongirl Re: Article: Princeton's Woman Problem - 03/23/11 06:08 PM
Originally Posted by Bostonian