Gifted Issues Discussion homepage
Posted By: Mahagogo5 Learning to read - 10/22/13 06:39 AM
So dd3 has decided to teach herself to read. She has rejected any lessons and just wants to use starfall. Any tips fo self taught methods to help here as she will sit at the gosh darn computer all day if i let her. She refuses most stories - we have only just started picture books. We only read non fiction and labelling books ( ie the ones with photos and names of items). We have the leap frog letters and a set of flash cards as well but she is not interested in those. She does ask for activities to practise her writing though.
Posted By: Mana Re: Learning to read - 10/22/13 08:52 AM
It was really hard for me at times to sit back and let DD figure it out on her own but her father wanted us to respect her autonomy and give her the confidence that comes from having learned to read independently at a young age.

I don't say this very often but he was right and it worked out well for her. When children are engaged, they are learning so for now, maybe Starfall is what she needs and as long as she adheres to a reasonable daily limit, all is good?
Posted By: Mahagogo5 Re: Learning to read - 10/22/13 09:17 AM
Yep I think you are spot on. I guess I was worried I wasn't providing the "right" learning environment. Is it even self taught f a program is used? I always thought self taught was kids just picking it up frill signs and daily life....
Posted By: eyreapparent Re: Learning to read - 10/22/13 11:19 AM
My DD4 taught herself to read using starfall at 2/3 as well. She was like your daughter, she would want to sit at the computer for hours and it was a battle to get her away from it. She also didn't want my help, as with most things. So I had no hand in her learning any of the sounds. She was not a fan of flash cards either.