Gifted Issues Discussion homepage
Posted By: purpleviolin Should we apply DYS without IQ testing? - 05/27/11 02:31 PM
Hi, I am new here. We live in Chicago.

Our DS7 have been tested before applying for a talent search program in Chicago. He got 99.9% for both reading and math (KTEA -II) and 98% for verbal, 99.8% non verbal and 99.7% IQ composite from KBIT -2.

We have a full report from above.

Not sure if testing results like that will be accepted or not. Should we take him to a formal IQ testing? I can certainly make a portfolio for him. Just wanted to get some suggestions from this wonderful group!

Thanks,

Grace
Grace..
Welcome. I am in the Chicago area too. I am not an expert here so no advice other than if you do get him tested .. The Quest Academy (Palatine) will test with full reports inexpensively. You do not need to be enrolling there to test with them.

hth
Sheila
Posted By: Iucounu Re: Should we apply DYS without IQ testing? - 05/27/11 02:48 PM
Applying costs nothing. What do you have to lose?
Thanks Shiela for the information.

I checked and the cost is $450. I will give them a call to make an appointment!

Grace
Grace did he test at northwestern?
The tester did show me his score right after testing , but we left in a hurry and I did not even remember the score. In the final report, there is only percentage.

I am thinking of calling them again to ask for the actual score.

Yes. it is Northwestern Talent Search
Grace
I sent you a private message.. its a blinking envelope at top of your screen
Sheila
Got DS 7 tested and here are his scores:

VCI 150
PRI 143
WMI 141
PSI 109. (he really took it slow)
FSIC 147

Posted By: Mam Re: Should we apply DYS without IQ testing? - 07/13/11 05:22 AM
Yay! Very solid scores.... are you ready to start that application now?
Yeah. This is the step we will take next once we get the official written avaluation and see where does this take us.