Gifted Issues Discussion homepage
Posted By: Jennys6 Low IQ High Achievement - 04/29/13 10:58 PM
I am a 15 year old in the 9th grade. My parents have tried to have me enrolled in Pine View School (currently 6th top high school in the United States), but my IQ is not high enough to be labeled as gifted (IQ requirement is 130 I believe). I am a high achieving student. Freshman year my classes include: Spanish 2, Band, AP Human Geography, Biology Honors, Health Science, English 1 Honors, Algebra 2 Honors, Geometry Honors (taking online), and HOPE (Health and physical education, finished the course online). I have gotten a perfect score (150/150) on the Math PERT (Postsecondary Education Readiness Test)and passed the Reading and Writing portion in order to get into Dual Enrollment English (typically an 11th grade class). My report card:
Quarter 1
Spanish 2 97
Band 99
AP Human Geography 86
Biology Honors 97
Health Science 96
English 1 Honors 100
Algebra 2 Honors 100

Quarter 2
Spanish 2 93
Band 98
AP Human Geography 90
Biology Honors 100
Health Science 100
English 1 Honors 100
Algebra 2 Honors 100

Quarter 3
Spanish 2 94
Band 100
AP Human Geography 91
Biology Honors 100
Health Science 93
English 1 Honors 100
Algebra 2 Honors 100

Last year, on FCAT (Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test) I scored a 4.5 on Writing, 5 on Math (perfect score), 5 on Reading (1 wrong), and 5 on Science (2 wrong).
I am really passionate about school, learning, and education. I was in (in terms of extracurriculars) Academic Olympics, Speech and Debate, and MAT (Mu Alpha Theta, basically a math honors society) this year. I am left handed and for some reason I heard that left handed people generally score lower on IQ tests. I am genuinely curious as to why I can achieve good grades and scores on tests, but not be gifted. I would appreciate some input on my situation. Thank you! smile
Posted By: KADmom Re: Low IQ High Achievement - 04/30/13 12:28 AM
Jenny,