Gifted Issues Discussion homepage
Posted By: squirt Valedictorian debate in Texas - 05/29/08 06:18 PM
Here's the link to the story:

http://www.dallasnews.com/sharedcon...s/052908dnmetvaledictorian.3b254412.html

I would be interested to hear your comments.

(I didn't even know you could have a 5.xxx GPA. When I went to high school it was 99.xxx. Shows my age!)
Posted By: Cathy A Re: Valedictorian debate in Texas - 05/29/08 08:04 PM
Outrageous. As the highest ranking graduate, she should receive the scholarship.
Posted By: kimck Re: Valedictorian debate in Texas - 05/29/08 08:17 PM
I totally agree - she should be valedictorian and she should definitely get the scholarship. Ridiculous. Although, I've always thought the title Valedictorian was a bit meaningless from my own experience. I graduated in the top 10 at my high school. A number of those kids in the top ten were taking shop, cooking, and a full load of study halls as opposed to AP classes.

But I don't Understand how you can have a GPA of 5.8+? Is she getting A+++'s? No GPA calculator I found online could possibly arrive at this number either. Anyone?
Posted By: Cathy A Re: Valedictorian debate in Texas - 05/29/08 08:31 PM
I don't know how they calculated that either. Maybe some classes are worth more points than others? We moved the summer before my junior year and I graduated with honors from my new high school. I didn't have the highest GPA, but I felt a little ripped off because it was clear to me that a B+ at my GT high school in History should have been worth at least an A at the new public high school...
Posted By: kimck Re: Valedictorian debate in Texas - 05/29/08 08:35 PM
Oh - ok. I just found an answer to my own question on yahoo answers.

The school I graduated from had a 3 tier system.

AP class is worth 6.0 for an A
Honers class is worth 5.0 for an A
Regular class is worth 4.0 for an A