Gifted Issues Discussion homepage
Posted By: questions EPGY Language Arts - 12/09/07 02:34 PM
Hi,

Have any of you tried the Stanford EPGY Language Arts courses for young children? There are two available for children reading at the third grade level and above (CTY doesn't offer language arts for young children). If so, what did you think?

Thank you!

Questions
Posted By: Lorel Re: EPGY Language Arts - 12/09/07 03:49 PM
Q-

I have heard mixed reviews on the lower level English courses from EPGY. The high school level classes are consistently rated very highly by parents and kids. My own kids have only used EPGY English starting at high school, so I have no personal experience with the lower level stuff.

hth-

Posted By: incogneato Re: EPGY Language Arts - 12/09/07 07:47 PM
What do you think about the lower level math at EPGY? Would you recommend Singapore math over EPGY for a 7/8 year old? EPGY wanted her to start in second grade, they didn't seem open to skipping up so we didn't follow through.

Thanks,
Incog
Posted By: Lorel Re: EPGY Language Arts - 12/10/07 06:28 PM
When DS was six he did EPGY grade 3/4 math. It is a very thorough program, but the interface is old and not very snazzy. It also has a lot of bugs. I'm glad that we tried it, but I decided not to spend the big bucks for it again at the elementary level. You might instead consider Aleks Math or Larson Math if you want an online program (not sure if Larson is still around) these two programs are considerably less expensive.