Gifted Issues Discussion homepage
Posted By: ACh A warning from a gifted adult. - 05/20/10 09:51 PM
Hi. I'm a gifted adult.

I was identified as profoundly gifted as a child; the reports said anywhere from 162 to as high as 'well above 180'.

Not to scare you too much, but I have a warning for the parents of gifted children:

It is profoundly tough for us to be alive and cope with the rest of the world.

I have my niche. I'm in science; I'm presently an undergrad, doing very well (high GPA, frequently on the Dean's List), and on the way to graduate school for neurobiology or genetics.

I have found my place in the world.

Nevertheless, here is a selection of what your children may encounter:
- the pain that comes from floating lonely in a sea of stupidity or ignorance with very little company
- the isolation
- the anger at the lack of nuance in the thought processes of the people around them
- the impatience with the slow thought processes of others despite frequent practice at being patient
- the fear of the possibility of the modern version of angry pitchfork-bearing peasants running after them for saying something that makes them look stupid or challenges their worldview
- the fact that the vast majority of people in the world are, quite plainly, morons. If you read the news, you'll know what I mean.

The mere fact that I have found a place where I belong and that I can achieve what I want to achieve is what keeps me alive. If this were not the case, I would have killed myself a long time ago from despair.