Gifted Issues Discussion homepage
Posted By: JDAx3 Help - 5th grade math problem - 09/15/09 02:00 AM
I know how I'd work this problem and I know the answer, but I'm not sure what methods are generally used in 5th gr and I don't want to confuse an issue. (btw, it's a bonus question and DS said they didn't go over how to do it.)

***About 7/10 of the US population (175,104,000) in 1991 believed saying A to be true. What was the total population?***

I'm so not good at 'teaching'. Even though I know how to do something, I'm not good at relaying the info in a way that makes sense. Guess I know where DS gets it blush.

Can anyone offer up 5th grade ideas for how this type of problem is taught?
Posted By: LMom Re: Help - 5th grade math problem - 09/15/09 02:05 AM
One of the possible solutions using Singapore math would be

1) You say that 7 units = 175,104,000

2) From that you calculate how much 1 unit is

3) Then you calculate what 10 units are equal to

Posted By: Nautigal Re: Help - 5th grade math problem - 09/15/09 02:09 AM
That's what I would do, but I have no idea how 5th grade math teachers might do it these days.
Posted By: CAMom Re: Help - 5th grade math problem - 09/15/09 02:10 AM
Does he know how to cross-multiply?

I'd teach him 7/10=175,104,000/X

Then you multiply the 10 times the 175,104,000=7 times x

1,751,040,000=7x

Divide both sides by 7

Posted By: JDAx3 Re: Help - 5th grade math problem - 09/15/09 02:12 AM
Originally Posted by LMom
One of the possible solutions using Singapore math would be

1) You say that 7 units = 175,104,000

2) From that you calculate how much 1 unit is

3) Then you calculate what 10 units are equal to

Thanks!! That's about where I was, but I wasn't sure if I was in the general grade area. Oh, and I love the 'teaching' instruction..."you say that 7 units...." LOL, I don't think I could mess this one up.

Have a great day!
Posted By: EandCmom Re: Help - 5th grade math problem - 09/15/09 02:13 AM